SA Award Winners Announced

The Occupational Therapy Australia SA Awards recognise and acknowledge the contribution and dedication of outstanding occupational therapists working within South Australia. Two awards were presented and announced at the SA Division 2019 Annual Divisional Meeting.

The SA Awards program provides an opportunity to showcase the excellence and innovative work being undertaken by our members. Nominees this year included practitioners from emerging fields of practice, innovation in service design and leadership in established best practice programs. Congratulations to all who were nominated.

The Williams OT Innovative Service Award was won by the SA Department of Education Occupational Therapy Team (Anna Forgan, Sarah Enthoven, Belinda Jankowiak and Carla Koay). Since being established 18 months ago the team have provided approximately 1,200 teachers and students with the first ever model of paediatric occupational therapy service delivery in the Department for Education preschools, schools and high schools in South Australia. Their primary area of service delivery is using a trauma informed lens to support students’ self-regulation via three-part workshop series in order to engage in learning and the emphasis is on whole-of-class or whole-of-site approaches.


The Brazier Mobility Supported Research Award was won by Madison Bateman an honours student at UniSA whose project is Exploration and Description of the Role of Occupational Therapist’s Working with NDIS Participants. A variety of data collection methods will be used to gain a holistic understanding of OT activity.
Findings will be documented in a journal article(s) and potentially a conference presentation with aims to prompt advocacy and recognition for the work of OTs in the disability sector from an OT perspective.


The association would like to thank the collective efforts of those who enabled this program including sponsors, judges, nominators and Members.

Sponsored Advertising - Find out more