Occupational Therapy Australia is governed by a Board of Directors elected by members and or through the Nominations Committee. There can be up to ten Board Directors, which includes provision for external non-member and non-occupational therapists as directors. 

Governance Documents


Code of Ethics

The ethos of the occupational therapy profession and its practice requires its members to “discharge their duties and responsibilities, at all times, in a manner which professionally, ethically and morally compromises no individual with whom they have professional contact, irrespective of that person’s position, situation or condition in society”.

The Code of Ethics is founded on the bio-ethical principles of beneficence, non-maleficence, honesty, veracity, confidentiality, justice, respect and autonomy.

Code of Ethics


Strategic Plans

Occupational Therapy Australia Strategic Plan 2017-2020: “Our 2020 VISION: Occupational therapy is valued for agility, influence and innovation”


Annual Reports & AGMs

2017-18 Annual General Meeting

Past annual reports with comprehensive detail of that year's achievements and activities.

Angela Berndt PhD, GAICD (President)
Angela is a registered Occupational Therapist with over 20 years experience in a range of areas including aged care, dementia, driver assessment and rehabilitation and education, including as head of school of UniSA.


Dr Carol McKinstry PhD, GAICD (Vice-President)
Registered occupational therapist with experience in rehabilitation, senior management, clinical governance and risk management. Currently a senior lecturer academic with responsibilities for teaching, research and course coordination.



Michelle Bissett PhD (Vice-President - Finance)
Michelle has over 15 years experience in acute settings and aged care and education.




Paul Marsh (Director)
Registered Occupational Therapist specialising in Occupational Rehabilitation.



Annie McCluskey PhD MA DipCOT FOTARA (Director)
Annie is a leader in occupational therapy and stroke rehabilitation research.  She led the occupational therapy working group which helped write the 2017 national stroke guidelines.   Since 2010, she has been an active board director (and treasurer) for Ben Ricketts Environmental Preserve or BREP.


Priscilla Ennals PhD (Director)
With almost 30 years’ experience working across clinical, academic and research contexts, Priscilla is a creative and strategic thinker dedicated to the improvement of our Australian health and social care systems

Danette Hocking (Director)
Danni has experience in the following industries: Sporting and entertainment, professional & financial services, health and education, child care, process manufacturing, NFP, FMCG, transport and logistics, warehouse and distribution, retail, local and federal government organisations.


Lynette MacKenzie FOTARA (WFOT Delegate)
Registered Occupational Therapist with experience in ageing, home modifications, general rehabilitation, and cancer survivorship. Currently appointed as an associate professor in occupational therapy. World Federation of Occupational Therapists delegate.


The Executive Leadership Team (ELT) of OTA comprises its CEO, CFO and COO providing leadership across finance, policy and government relations, brand and development, education, member engagement and people and culture. 

Samantha Hunter, CEO
Samantha is an experienced CEO and Director with a over 20 years of experience in leading collaborative projects across corporate, community and professional services sectors.

As a senior leader, Samantha has led significant strategic growth programs across a diverse range of businesses including membership-based professional services and the not-for-profit sector. With a diverse range of leadership disciplines including strategy and business development, marketing and public/stakeholder relations and community education projects, Samantha’s combination of strategic insight, energy and enthusiasm helps teams bring their goals to life.

Samantha’s varied experience includes Director of Tomboy Media, CEO and previous Chair of Crime Stoppers Victoria, Director of Country Victoria Fire Authority, Ballarat International Foto Biennale and Werribee Football Club. Her diverse professional background is underpinned by her commitment to building strong, resilient communities.

Also in this Section

Annual Reports & AGM

Occupational Therapy Australia past annual reports and notice of Annual General Meetings.


Sponsored Advertising - Find out more